Take 1 – poems – Eliot Cardinaux

Take 1
poems, Eliot Cardinaux
Bodily Press, 2023
bodilypress.bandcamp.com

~

In my wanting to appear forever specifically to no two people, I go back and forth, or went, here beside, in hereafter, of the writing of Eliot Cardinaux, as it is, or will be, in the chapbook Take 1. First take. Or perhaps: First, take. Oh title, oh instruction. This white space of abundance. This absent plenty. If it's true that the same poem comes to all over and over, then Cardinaux writes to each of how to be, differently, again. In the reading, I wrote a note-to-self to maybe unselve: I long to be in the moment and also I pine to misremember, though I am suddenly wrong to have ever kept them apart. As such, I am still being struck by these thrice thundered poems, by how they hold, and give away, the optimistic loneliness of the unexpected. As in the joke where god tells crow 'Crow, this is your last, warning.", the poem looks, and can only look, where it's already. 

~

reflection by Barton Smock

~

book, etc, is here

Leave a comment